The main purpose of public libraries is to provide books and they shouldn’t waste their limited resources and space on providing expensive hi-tech media such as computer software, videos and DVDs. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

At present, technologies such as computers, videos, and social media play essential roles in the world. Moreover, individuals read electronic books on computers rather than paper books. However, some people believe that libraries should provide only paper books, while some argue that libraries should provide hi-tech media and computers for citizens to access the internet. In my opinion, I believe that public libraries should provide technologies for individuals. First of all, public libraries should provide hi-tech technologies, because paper books are harmful to the environment and global warming. This is because papers are made from trees, which creates deforestation. For instance, each book contains lots of pages, which means that only one book needs many trees to produce it. Additionally, electronic books are easily accessed through the internet and there are many applications that provide free electronic books to read, and free videos on youtube to study. Secondly, there are many younger generations that do not have an opportunity to access computers and the internet because of poverty. There are many parents that do not have enough salaries to send their children to school. Furthermore, children can self-learning through the internet from public libraries. In addition, students can learn new knowledge through, computer software, videos, and DVDs, which makes students are outside learners automatically. To conclude, the government should provide the Internet and computers rather than provide paper books because of decreasing deforestation, and give younger citizens opportunities to access the Internet. Personally, I strongly agree that the advantages of providing technology outweigh the disadvantages.