Some people say that nowadays children have an easy life, and some people think that the life of children was easier in the past. Discuss both points of view and also provide relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people are of the view that the life of children these days is easier as compared to that of children in the past. This is accurate to some extent as technological advancement has indeed made children ’s lives easier, but at the same time, they carry the baggage of competition on their shoulders, which makes them miserable. In this essay, we will discuss both points of view. It is incontrovertible that recent inventions and boosts in technology have improved our standard of living, specifically for children. They have the latest tools and devices at their disposal which bring luxury into their lives which was unimaginable in the past. For example, children can go to school via cars or school buses, reducing their commute time as well as saving them from fatigue. Similarly, they can get assistance from the internet for their homework or assignments. They do not need to go to libraries for a book search on the relevant topic. Thus, saving time and effort required to achieve the tasks assigned to them. On the other hand, with growing technology and tools, children are bearing an additional load of competition. While competition is healthy and should be encouraged, it can also become a burden. For instance, children are always in a race to score good marks, be ahead of their peers in extra-curricular activities and so on. This creates additional pressure on them which takes a toll on their mental health. Hence, their life is not as easy as one may think. To recapitulate, although technology has improved children ’s life for the better, it has also brought additional pressure of competition in their lives, which can have dire consequences.