Some people believe arts such as painting and music cannot directly improve the quality of people's lives so that government money should be spent on other things. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought by some people that the governments should not spend money on arts such as painting and music and it is better if they use money on something useful that will improve the quality of people's lives. From my perspective, I strongly agree with this notion and reasons will be outlined in the following paragraphs before reaching a conclusion. To begin with, there are a number of problems in society that await authorities to organise and one of the most significant is public transport. To elaborate further, most public vehicles' engines are outdated and unperformed, and therefore they need to be overhauled in order to reduce exhaust fumes produced by those engines, causing air pollution. Moreover, public transport is essential to all dwellers to commute back and forth and hence it should be set in, covering all city and rural areas. For example, in Bangkok, a number of outdated buses are still running and they produce a lot of exhaust fumes, badly affecting individuals' respiratory systems. Besides, some areas still do not have comprehensive transport systems to ease people from commuting from their homes to workplaces. Additionally, another support reason to support my idea is to promote tourism. To explain in greater detail, convincing vacationers to our communities can boost jobs and revenue of local people in that areas. Furthermore, the more travellers coming to cities, the more investors invest in that zones; as a result, those cities will grow and develop rapidly, improving locals' quality of life. For example, in recent years, numerous sightseers have been coming to my city contributing to investors see the opportunities to invest their money in this area. Thus, plenty of facilities and amenities that help and ease our lives have sprung up and many locals have more jobs to apply for. Overall, it is a fact that spending money in arts is not necessary. In my opinion, I agree with this viewpoint as the states have many paramount issues to tackle or alleviate, namely public transport and tourism, to improve the quality of people's lives.