The use of mobile phones is as antisocial as smoking. Smoking is banned in certain places so mobile phones should be banned like smoking. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the use of mobile phones has globalized, and every individual utilizes them to make their life more comfortable. It is claimed that this trend is as antisocial as smoking, therefore, it should be prohibited. From my perspective, I strongly disagree with this idea. Firstly, the use of cellular phones can make us more socialized and would be an educational tool for us. Nowadays, globalization has been progressing and the demand for learning second languages has also become increasingly important. In this social situation, smartphones enable us to interact with people from all over the world and learn another tongue readily. For example, there are some applications offering us platforms to exchange languages, namely, Hello Talk and Tandem. At the same time, individuals can deepen their understanding of unfamiliar cultures through this communication. Thus, the use of phones can be a beneficial way to educate people and it should not be banned. Secondly, mobile phones play a crucial role in delivering urgent information in a situation of emergency. For instance, when disasters such as earthquakes, tsunamis, and fire are about to happen, people are required to quickly escape from the site and evacuate to the safety area. Apparently, smartphone is the fastest way to obtain emerging information than traditional ways such as newspapers and TV. Thus, it cannot be denied that the usage of portable phones can save people’s lives and should not be banned. In conclusion, mobile phones make our lives easier and play a crucial role in the academic field and emergency situations. Taking account into the mentioned advantages, I strongly believe that the use of phones should not be forbidden.