Experts claim that if older people do more exercise they will be healthier and happier. However, many elderly people suffer from a lack of fitness. What are the causes of this and what are some possible solutions?

it is claimed that doing exercise regularly will help elderly people to stay healthy and happy, but a myriad of them suffer from a lack of fitness due to poor health conditions and their hectic schedules. personally, I hold the belief that some solutions need to be taken into consideration with a view to mitigating this problem. to begin with, it is true that partaking in physical activities has positive influences on older people's overall well-being, especially their emotional states and physical health. therefore, they will be able to expand their life expectancy. however, these days, many elderly people are unable to exercise frequently, as they can not put up with exercise intensity, which causes pain to their bodies. furthermore, older people have the tendency of doing household chores every day, so it is impossible for them to have enough time for physical activities. for example, in Vietnam, elderly people are responsible for housework because of their children's working burden. As a result, a majority of older people in this country have unhealthy lifestyles. possible measures need to be taken to solve the issue completely. firstly, the upgrade of sports facilities specialised for the elderly is essential. due to their age and level of fitness, older people can not utilize similar sports equipment to adults or teenagers, so they need their own special facilities in order to avoid serious injuries. the second one is the elderly should balance time between working and relaxing. it is logical for them to do exercise after their hard-working days, which assists not only to recharge their batteries but also to maintain their health conditions. in conclusion, I am of the opinion that the workload of households and poor health affect negatively the level of fitness among the elderly. therefore, potential solutions can be taken into account that can minimize its negative impacts considerably.