Some people say that computers can translate languages, so children need not study foreign languages anymore. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The technology has developed at a rapid speed. Due to this, some believe that it is unnecessary for children to study English as computers are able to convey our thoughts in various languages. I firmly disagree with this view. Machines could translate our language but not our expressions and convey our ideas precisely when it comes to dialects. To begin with, though artificial intelligence can deliver our ideas, it is incapable of exhibiting human emotions through expressions. To elucidate, language is not just about translating, it is about expressing our thoughts in an appropriate way. When one needs to deliver a sad dialogue, it has to be delivered in such a way that it exhibits its true emotion. For example, let us take the Google Translate application. It has the potential to convert the message we provide and articulate in about 500 languages. However, it has no capacity to exert feelings. Furthermore, there are some dialect expressions which cannot be translated by any computers as of now. In other words, in almost every language, there would be some phrases which literally do not have any meanings if they are spoken separately. But, when combined with a sentence, it can totally convey a different message. For instance, “Oh my god, my bike is missing” sounds like the speaker is yelling in frustration and when it is said as “Oh my God, I got selected and got a job” sounds like the speaker is surprised and expresses his happiness. To conclude, although the advent of technology and its tremendous growth has a significant impact on our day-to-day life, as of now, they can simply convert sentences from one language to another but they can not express our emotions and dialects. Therefore, I highly advise pupils to learn foreign languages which is the wiser decision.