Some people think the government should subsidize fruit and vegetables to make healthy food more affordable. Other argue that the government should tax unhealthy food instead. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, people have different opinions, about whether the government should have imposed high taxes on junk food or ought to provide subsidies for healthier food like fruits and green vegetables. Although this essay considers both sides of the contention notion, I tend to believe that levying taxes on unhealthy food more favourable approach because not only minimising suppliers but also increases obesity. First and foremost, some people including me support the argument that the government authorities have to impose heavy tariffs at production points. To be more specific, if high taxes charged starts from the production station, then the final price of a particular junk food item is much higher. Hence, individuals avoid paying higher taxes, despite giving preference to healthier food. To epitomise, The Times published an article that in Leh state government charged 20% extra on junk food. Due to that inhabitants purchase vegetables and fruits at a nominal rate. Hence,healthier people in that state as compared to other ones. Moving on, another worth mentioning point is now youngsters or more curious about their health. This is because, with the increase in diseases day by day youth give more preference to a healthy diet and exercise on a regular basis. As a consequence, become physically fit and away from disease. For example, Tim Copper, from Sheffield Hallam University researched that 80% escalation in the organic plantation of green vegetables and fruits because people are aware of what is good for them. Shifting to another aspect, another school of thought opposes the concept of imposing taxes rather than giving importance to the allowance for veggies and fruits. As they may think that, providing grants for vegetables encourage people to eat healthier besides spending too much on fast food. In conclusion, the community finds it hard to reach a consensus that imposing the tax or providing grants is preferable for the public by the government. Despite the few people prefer receiving grants, I tend to favour that charging a higher rate for junk food benefited people by encouraging them to minimise the scale along with that live a healthier life.