Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

It is commonly known as a fact that many criminals repeat committing crimes after release. This is due to several reasons, but the most effective factor is the gaps they face after serving the first punishment. However, this problem can be tackled by implementing policies. To begin with, separating criminals from society creates gaps between updated information and those people's own. Thus, they will find it difficult to find employment, leading to financial problems. Then, offenders become pessimistic and express their emotions to society. For example, most second convictions occur because people who committed crimes once bear a grudge against society. Those have a belief that society makes their current condition, getting angry at social members. This demonstrates that if this problem is dealt with, fewer criminals engage in crimes. Nevertheless, offenders can have sufficient opportunities to fill up the blank and adapt to society again, with the government implementing several policies. Then, those people can melt into society and act as social components. For instance, in Korea, the Korea Rehabilitation Agency provides individuals committing assault and burglary with vocational training and job introduction to find employment after serving the punishment. The book published by this agency in 2020 reported that the second offence rate decreased to 3% in 2019 due to their policies. In conclusion, it is evident that second convictions because of gaps they encounter are urgent problems to be alleviated. Even so, many policies are able to cope with that factor, declining the rate of repeated crimes.