“Prevention is better than cure” Out of a country’s health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and prevention measures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In this period of modernity, people are falling sick more often, so many people advocate that the government should shift its focus to health awareness programs. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this notion and my opinion will be discussed in further paragraphs along with a sensible conclusion. Supporting my agreement with the given statement, I firmly believe that many diseases spread across the nation mainly due to a lack of knowledge. For example, during the initial days of Covid-19 nobody knows how it is spreading. In fact, we can avoid major health issues if we have minimum awareness and by following proper prevention measures. For instance, a survey conducted in Hong Kong revealed that the government took control over covid-19 spread after conducting awareness programs and following strict guidelines. Explaining some of the other supporting points in favour of this statement, it is true that treatment for any disease may lead to side effects. As a result, one has to deal with long-term health issues which may create financial burdens and mental stress. To cite an example, many folks are struggling with post covid health problems such as hair loss, heart problems and many more. Hence, people should be aware of its importance and should pay a little more attention to their health. Moreover, the agencies should consider budget allocations to awareness programs rather than hospitals for treatment. In conclusion, we can arrest major health issues with few precautions and awareness. I believe that the aforementioned points are strongly supporting my viewpoint.