Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Technology has revolutionized our lives. According to some, technology has brought us closer to our family members and humanity in general, but others, they argue it has driven us apart. In this essay, I will discuss how technology has played a role in both bridging and distancing human beings. Improvement in communication has made it easier to communicate with others. Now, all we need to do is press a button and talk to our family members a thousand miles away. Something that would not have been feasible in the past. For example, an invitation to a wedding would need to be RSVP'd via letter which would take days before it reached its destination but we are now able to reply back in a second. Furthermore, the invention of social media has brought people nearer to each other than ever. We are able to wish our friends a happy birthday with just a message or get back with our long lost aquaintances. However, technology has made us more socially distant than ever. We are more online than we have been in the past and we spend less time physically with each other. People don't go out as much as they used to, as the convenience of modern technology has made it so they don't need to. A family get together is done via Facetime or video call, and the intimacy of social interaction is all but eliminated. Being terminally online, many are out of touch and can't differentiate between fiction and reality. They live in their bubbles and are in for a shock when real life is completely different. In conclusion, technology has made it easier for us to get together and share our thoughts but it has driven us apart in ways we never saw it coming. In my opinion, technology is absolutely crucial to push our human race forward. It has a positive impact on our society but we should be aware of it's consequences if we continue to over-rely on it.