In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no doubt that people’s health is getting better than ever before. Many agree that old RESIDENTS are a burden for the government, while others believe that there are advantages if society has more older adults. I completely agree WITH THE LATTER FOR SOME REASONS MENTIONED IN THIS ESSAY. One of the main advantages of having more older adults is the wide range of experience and knowledge. Older people often have a lot of life experience, knowledge and social skills. HENCE, THEY MIGHT act as mentors TO provide and share valuable guidance to younger generations. Moreover, an ageing population can lead to increased demand for healthcare services, creating more chances for jobs in the healthcare sector. In addition, some older citizens can continue to work beyond THEIR retirement age, so they can contribute to the economy of their family and country. For instance, in Japan, retirees STILL WORK in different departments THAT HELP TO SOLVE some labour shortage problems. As a result, Japan has the best economy in the world. Another reason is that the elderly community can take care of children when their parents go to work, thanks to which families save money WHEN NOT sending their children to childcare centres. Additionally, older adults can engage in some volunteer activities to bring some benefits to communities and non-profit organizations, then strengthen social cohesion and support systems. Furthermore, elderly people can give important advice from their real-life experiences and prevent their children from making wrong decisions. For example, the father of the richest man in the world Elon Musk advised him to return after completing his studies and start his business in America. As a result, his company became one of the largest companies in the world. To sum up, ALTHOUGH IT IS BELIEVED THAT ageing citizens PUT A STRAIN ON THE GOVERNMENT’S BUDGET, I AM STILL CONVINCED THAT THEY BRING GREAT BENEFITS TO SOCIETY.