Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. DO the advanatges of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, in this fast developing world, learning a new language is very vital for people to communicate and open up about other cultures, consequently, it’s controversial whether the teaching should start from primary or secondary school, I believe that the benefits outweigh the demerits for these following reasons, Firstly, the best period to teach children new habits, especially skills like languages is childhood, mainly during the primary school years, because their brain is such as white paper, in other words, they are able to receive and memorize a huge amount of information easily. Moreover, kids are still in the period of mother tongue learning which is very suitable for new language learning. Far than that, kids are likely to accept a foreign culture because of their curiosity instinct. Furthermore, primary school focuses on building children’s personality, behaviour and good communication, which is why this age phase is the best to learn a foreign tongue. On the other hand, secondary school focuses on other subjects such as mathematics and physics, more academic courses, so language learning in this stage is not a priority nor the main subject, consequently, the children are more likely to show less interest in languages, more than that, in the secondary school children become teens where the interests are not the same nor the personality remains the same. To conclude, I support the expert’s view. This stage of the age of primary school plays a major role in the learning process compared to secondary school, where the interest of teens changes as well as the school ’s orientation focuses on more academic subjects.