It is becoming more and more difficult to escape the influence of the media on our lives. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living in a media rich society.

Media has become an important part of our daily lexicon. However, it is becoming harder to escape its influence upon us. In this essay, I will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of living in such a society. The first advantage of media is that it helps us keep up with current affairs. Instead of being ignorant of what's happening outside our borders, we get our news in real-time. A war taking place on a different continent, for example, can be followed on another continent thousands of miles away. Secondly, multimedia is an excellent form of entertainment. Movies, music, and television shows keep us busy and distract us and provide a reprieve from our woes. Third, the media is an excellent job of creating outlets. They have given rise to gigantic corporations that employ thousands of people and also, side hustles for those looking to earn a bit more. On the other hand, this effect makes it easy to control the public's thought process. 24/7 news channels have poisoned the mind of many and have created a bubble of homogenous thinking. A country run by an oppressive government, for instance, abuses the media to propagate hate and distrust among the masses. Furthermore, media coverage can be very partial, choosing to cover a certain trivial event over a more relevant one. This creates a circle of ignorance for many who are not aware of what's happening somewhere else. Not only that, certain media outlets such as tabloids waste our time and tend to rabidly follow a celebrity, creating an invasion of privacy In conclusion, media influence isn't necessarily a bad thing, however, its dominance makes it easy to sway opinions and change minds. This can lead to a very toxic form of thinking which, consequently, creates misguidance.