Nowadays online shopping is extremely popular. Discuss the impact of it on the environment and on people who last their fobs because of it.

With the popularity and dependence on online shopping increasing day by day, we are seeing a lot of consequences on the environment and the job market. One of the main effects of this development on the environment is that there is a lot of resultant waste from packaging materials. In addition, local fields have also taken a severe hit. It has become extremely easy to shop for anything online ranging from a toothbrush to a TV. With increasing competition among shopping websites, many of them offer free delivery even if you order one product. This has led to a very casual attitude in people while placing their orders online, as what can be boxed together is now being sent individually, unnecessarily using more packaging material. 80% of this material (largely made of non-biodegradable products) eventually goes into the trash, thereby adding to the already critical problem of land and water pollution. Small local trades, like grocery stores and clothing, have also not been able to keep up with the competitive prices that online shopping sites are offering. As a result, many retail shops have had to shut down, with the workers losing their jobs. These small entrepreneurs sometimes house handcrafted products from local and rural artisans as well. Shutting down such businesses hurts these artists’ earnings as they don’t have the means and the know-how to get featured on online shopping sites. In conclusion, e-commerce has definitely impacted local work badly by putting small-wage workers and rural artisans out of jobs, and has also contributed in a major way to the already grave problem of non-biodegradable pollution.