In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people eho decides to do this

Recently, youths in some nations are advised to work or travel for a year before entering college after completing secondary school. The benefits of this are the opportunity to learn new skills and become independent but there are some drawbacks as they can be influenced by bad gangs and become difficult to cope in college. To begin, the main benefit of youngsters spending a year before getting admission into college will help them to develop skills to provide for their financial needs when they get to university as they are able to sponsor most of their basic needs. Also, they become independent because of their distance from home as this will help them to become capable to take care of their physical needs and able to solve their problems without the help of their parents when they get to school. For example, according to a research study by Williams James on youths states that 90% of them are able to learn new skills to support them in college and make them more independent. Furthermore, despite these, one of the drawbacks is they become less privileged to be influenced by bad friends that can make them go into activities that can be detrimental to their mental health and behaviour. Therefore, making young people involved in bad activities can affect their way of life and reasoning. Moreover, they find it difficult to cope when they get into college as they tend to have forgotten important knowledge that they have learnt in secondary school due to the one year of staying at home or travelling. For instance, in Nigeria, 70% of youths who spend one year at home before college are influenced by bad people to smoke and drink and they find it difficult to adjust to learning and performing well in their academics. In conclusion, youths in some nations who spend a year working or travelling before going to college are able to develop new skills and become independent. However, this can make them become a bad image in their society due to bad influence and they are unable to cope in college.