Individual greed and selfishness have been the basis of modern society. Some people think that we must return to older more traditional values such as respect for the and the local community in order to create a better world to live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Apparently, it can easily be observed that adults of the current society are inclined towards being rapacious and selfish. Where a section of the community asserts that it is better to implement the traditional order to maintain its respect, I agree with this view, the old values such as the respectful and helpful nature can address these modern issues well. Arguably, there are numerous reasons why it is important to reintroduce old societal structures to stamp out greediness and selfishness from adults. First and foremost, since being respectful was an indispensable part of ancient society, people understood the values of other’s needs. Nonetheless, people now desire more and more money, which not only increases conflicts in society but also weakens their family bonds. For example, a report published in The Guardian Newspaper in March 2022 stated that conflicts in personal and professional life due to rapacity had been drastically rising at 12% every year since 2010. Hence, an old structure of society can provide a sense of equal distribution resulting in a peaceful place to live in. Furthermore, in old times, humans were helpful to others and felt internally happy. However, in modern times, individuals of every age group have zero interest in participating in social well-being, which hinders them from being assistive in nature. Eventually, they just think about themselves and turn out to be selfish. For instance, the World Road Safety Society published in its annual report last year that only 2 out of 10 people helped the victims of road accidents and the main factor behind this was their self-centred nature. Consequently, the traditional structure of values is rather essential to give a profound insight into the importance of selfless services to harmony among the masses. To conclude, I completely agree with the reintroduction of traditional values to maintain the respect of society to enhance respecting and helping behaviour among individuals for a better human life, which can decrease the increased virtues of greed and selfishness of modern times.