Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as coursework and projects are ‘not a satisfactory way to do this. Do you agree or disagree?

The modern education system has considered examinations as a significant aspect of the process of evaluating students. In fact, it has become the most prominent manner of appraising among the other alternatives such as assignments, presentations, in-class tests and so on. From my standpoint, assessing performance solely on exams is insufficient to analyze the extent of achieving the learning objectives. Most importantly, the inability of occasional examinations to encompass a wider scope of the syllabus, along with, the incapability of monitoring skills through exams can be put up as the rationale to emphasize the significance of consistent evaluation. Fundamentally, an official test does not cover all the substantial aspects of a subject. For instance, tests accompanying every lesson in biology possess the ability to analyze a student’s knowledge more than a year-end exam. In fact, the extent of evaluating the areas of a discipline is circumscribed by a formal exam than that of consistent assessments. Hence, an occasional test cannot be considered the only efficacious way to scrutinize the capabilities of students. Secondly, official exams are not able to probe a broader range of competencies contrary to continual assessments. As an example, skills like teamwork, leadership, communication, prioritization and so on cannot be distinguished through an academic test. In essence, adeptness in these competencies can be only detected by tasks like projects, presentations and other coursework. Thus, it is apparent that a formal exam is not the only convenient medium for detecting the capabilities of students. In conclusion, formal examinations lack the capacity of incorporating all the arenas of a module, along with the inadequacy of determining adroitness. Consequently, such an examination cannot be considered a solitary technique to evaluate an individual’s proficiency. After a thorough analysis, it is recommended that consistent assessments are essential to detect a student’s performance besides official tests.