Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

As I saw some books about success mentioned the importance of encouraging pupils to make decisions independently, I started to wonder whether this could really help with the growth of children. Apparently, some parents will disagree with the idea, claiming that young kids do not have the mature mentality to do so. I personally side with the former idea, but in the following essay, I will elaborate further on both points of view. On the one hand, I think giving children enough choices can build a sense of achievement. For example, I was sent to a language school when I was little and which became my favourite place. However, the shift of my mother was changed so she was not able to pick me up at the place. She then asked me to choose between riding a bike to reach the destination and quitting the class. I made the latter choice and even learned how to cycle at a relatively young age. Due to this, I feel more confident when facing any difficulty in my life. In other words, having the liberty to choose can help pupils gain a sense of accomplishment under some circumstances. On the other hand, some parents believe giving their offspring too many choices can result in self-destruction. For instance, making children decide on activities to do in their leisure time, under most circumstances, they might choose the easiest work to do, such as playing video games or watching films owing to an immature mentality. As a result, they might get used to this kind of unhealthy entertainment gradually and can be easily addicted to social media or computer games when they grow into adults. From a personal perspective, although some families believe that youngsters can not make sensible decisions solely, decision-making can actually be taught or learned from the process of making them. More precisely, if students choose to stick with cell phones instead of completing their homework, they might find it difficult to hand it in timely. Therefore, they can learn from their mistakes and this kind of practical experience can only be acquired when they are allowed to implement their own idea. In conclusion, despite some terrible decisions that can be made, parents should set aside the control of their offspring and make them learn how to make correct choices. After all, they will need to make one on their own in the near future.