THE WORLD TODAY IS A SAFER PLACE THAN IT WAS A HUNDRED YEARS AGO, AND GOVERNMENT SHOULD STOP SPENDING LARGE AMOUNTS OF MONEY ON THEIR ARMED FORCES. To what extent do you agree.

The world has evolved in the last centuries and now it has become much safer than in earlier times. Government should stop spending hefty amounts of money on their armed forces. I agree with the given statement and we will discuss the same in the next paragraphs. Firstly, many things have changed in the last 100 years like borders, economies and the way countries are run by governments. Most of the countries around the globe are developing and some of them are already developed. Every country is focused on the idea of making their economy stronger and not involving them in any war situation which can derail them from the path of becoming a stronger nation. For instance, countries like New Zealand, and India never attacked other countries first or started a war because they are well aware of the fact that it will slow down their economies. Additionally, every year Canada is reducing their army budget as they have good relations with other countries and they support peace. Therefore, these countries are setting an example that we can stay in good harmony without spending too much on the armed forces. On the other hand, many developed nations spend a humongous amount of money on the defence department. The United States of America and Russia are the biggest examples of it. Recent reports shows that America spends almost 1 trillion USD on their army which is way bigger than many countries ' economy. A survey conducted by an International magazine states that tax-payers all around the globe believe that their money is not being used in the right direction and it will never help countries to establish peace. To conclude, I would argue that governments should spend large amounts on their armed forces. On the, contrary they should collaborate and should aim to make a peaceful environment for future generations.