In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this

Nowadays, many countries support youngsters to take a job or go on vacation for a gap year between completing high school and entering a higher institution. This essay will discuss the drawbacks and benefits of this development. One commonly cited advantage of young adults taking a break from the academy is that it helps them to learn vocational skills, become independent and as well as travel to countries they have never been, to relax and enjoy themselves. This is beneficial because in the world today, vocational innovations are gaining ground and knowledge of these advances will give teenagers an upper hand among colleagues. Also, going on a tour can help kids to discover new information that is essential for their studies. For example, a student who leant tailoring and went on an excursion abroad to famous designers workshops before gaining admission into college can generate a lot of money from sewing dresses for classmates thereby relieving the parents of some financial obligations, and also having Change the form of the verb have show examples a wider range of expertise than those who never travelled or learnt any skill Despite this, there are a number of significant disadvantages to teenagers taking a period off academic activities. First of all, although it is essential for adolescents to gain experience, it could be more insurmountable for them to go back to the institution, especially when they are earning a lot of money from their current work, this could cause a decrease in their desire to go to tertiary institutions. Furthermore, a lot of money is wasted on booking tours and some students can meet unforeseen circumstances such as accidents which may cause them physical disability and hence reduce their self-esteem. Take for instance, a study conducted among youths in Nigeria, it was reported that a larger percentage of secondary school students who took a session off are more unmotivated to further studies than students who did not get a gap term. In conclusion, taking a year's break from the academy can make young individuals become independent, acquire new skills and go sightseeing. However, it can make them lose interest in furthering their education to the postgraduate level and lead to a decrease in self-confidence.