In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year or two between finishing high school and starting university. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

It has been noted that some nations advice their youngsters to get a job or travel for one year between finishing secondary school and going into higher institution. I discuss further on the cons and pros of this, and give a logical conclusion. To begin with. There are so many advantages associated with this trend, ranging from gaining travel experience to making young people work and add extra cash to their pockets. They also gain working experience and as well acquire professional skills. For instance, people from poor family backgrounds, on completing secondary education, can choose to learn hand work which helps them to earn money and provide financial support to their families. Some might go as far as sponsoring themselves when they eventually gain admission in tertiary institution. On the other hand, there are downsides to this. Given that teenagers easily succumb to peer pressure, some of them easily get distracted when they see their mates working and earning handsomely, they would wand to be like them and thereby giving up on education entirely. More so, when some youngsters conclude their high school, if found idle within this transition period between high school and university, might get corrupt with bad friends thereby loosing focus. For instance just like the popular saying that an idle mind is a devil’s workshop. When young people fail to engage into something meaningful such as getting a job or acquiring skills, they tend to be easily distracted with bad behaviors, some become drug addicts and criminals when they are not being guided. Consequently given up on education. In conclusion, in as much as there advantages to taking a year off to work or travel after secondary school, before starting university education such as getting a job and earning money to be independent, gaining travel experience and so on. Teenagers tend to loose interest in education within this short period if not properly guided.