In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young adults who decide to do this

Nowadays, many countries support youngsters to take a part-time job or go on adventures for a gap year between completing high school and entering higher institutions, so they can become skilful and independent. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of this statement. The most beneficial advantage of taking a break from the institution is that it enables young adults to learn about life. They are also able to acquire new skills that will encourage them to discover new things about themselves and as well as accumulate knowledge. This is particularly common to those having difficulty in deciding which course or career to embark on in the future. In addition, children who have financial constraints and those from humble family backgrounds can use the period to earn extra money and meet people who might sponsor their college education. However, there are many drawbacks to taking a prep period. Although, it is essential for adolescents to gain experience, it could be more insurmountable for them to go back to the institute, especially when they are earning a lot of money working as a part-timer, this could decrease their desire to go back to college. For instance, in a survey conducted among secondary school graduates in Nigeria, it was reported that a larger percentage of students who took time off are more unmotivated to further their studies than academy graduates who did not take a gap term. In conclusion, taking a year's break from academic activities can make young individuals become independent and better improve themselves. However, it can make them lose interest in furthering their education to a degree level.