Many offenders commit more crimes after serving their first punishment. Why is this happening and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem.

Many criminals who come out of prison after serving their first sentence become professional criminals. This essay will discuss the main causes of this behaviour including lack of rehabilitation and difficulty finding regular employment once released. This essay will also suggest solutions that should be implemented to deal with criminals who re-offend. Most first-time offenders commit crimes again, once they have been released from jail, due to lack of rehabilitation whilst in prison. For example, offenders in prison are not given a chance to retrain and learn new skills for their future instead they get mixed up with other criminals and learn how to commit more serious crimes. Additionally, these offenders do not find permanent jobs after coming out of prison. As a result, many of them struggle financially which leads them back to crime, regardless of the consequences. There are two effective solutions to the problem of repeat offenders. One way to tackle this is to ensure that all criminals entering prison are given a chance to retrain with useful skills which will hopefully help them to get a job after they have served their sentence. Another method of dealing with criminals who re-offend is to have more supervision and checks in place once they are back in society. These solutions will help them to reintegrate into society and give them some means of supporting themselves financially. In conclusion, a large number of criminals who serve their first sentence, leave prison only to re-offend. This essay discussed how lack of rehabilitation and trouble in finding employment lead first-time offenders back to crime. This essay also suggests that solutions to this problem are twofold: to provide skilful training while they are in prison and have more oversight once they are back in society.