Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Some experts believe that children will perform better if they begin learning a completely new language in primary school rather than secondary. But for the topic at hand, disadvantages outweigh benefits because teaching children a foreign language takes up the majority of their time and leaves them with little time to refine their logical reasoning skills.The topic is thoroughly illustrated in the article that follows. Starting with the negatives, the main issue is that children may struggle to grow their critical or intellectual thinking skills since they may become weary when studying a foreign language that has little to do with their age. For instance, several schools offer to teach foreign languages from the primary institute, such Japanese or French. However, if we take into account a kindergartener's mental capacity, it would seem beyond their capacity to learn at this point to teach them a foreign language. In contrast, if foreign languages are taught in secondary schools, students will be able to focus, comprehend grammar, and look up information online or in the library to fully understand the language.The second drawback is that kids could misunderstand terms in the new language and struggle to master fundamental concepts. Furthermore, it is crucial to remember the value of your mother tongue language, no matter how important it may be to learn a foreign language. On the other hand, one benefit is that children may become comfortable with a foreign language at a young age, which will benefit them in the future. However, it might cost them in the form of pressure, diminished or immature critical thinking. For instance, if a primary school student concentrates on learning French, he or she may become nearly fluent in the language, but owing to a lack of developed logic, they will be unable to solve a challenging maths or scientific challenge. In conclusion, while some may support the idea of teaching a foreign language to young children, the negatives much outweigh the advantages because it leaves them with little time to concentrate on other subjects and more time to memorise new words.