The best way to reduce youth crimes is to educate their parents with parental skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recent years have witnessed a significant increase in the crime rate of young people, causing widespread among the public. Therefore, it is of an opinion that providing parents with parental skills can be the most effective way to overcome this issue. Personally, I disagree with this viewpoint and reckon that joint efforts of both parents and schools are required to reduce youth crimes. On the one hand, it is undeniable that parents play a crucial role in shaping their children’s behaviour and characteristics. The main reason is that youngsters tend to unconsciously imitate their parent’s actions and words through a set of internal and external social interactions. In other words, whether a child has a proper attitude or a good personality mostly depends on the parents ’ background. To illustrate, the Canadian National Crime Prevention Centre reveals that adolescents from families which lack order and discipline are 1.5 times greater at risk of committing illegal activities as adults than those from structured households. Hence, equipping parents with parental skills is important to prevent and reduce the number of young offenders. These skills can include techniques of using discipline effectively and a balance between supervising and controlling teenagers’ habits. On the other hand, it is argued that schools and other educational institutions also play a major part in preventing youth crimes. It is noteworthy that students spend most of their time at school where their behaviour can be strongly affected by other peers, leading to high risks of committing unlawful actions. Consequently, the role of school cannot be neglected. With a unique position, schools can be another factor contributing to children’s development by providing them with nurturance and opportunities to improve their social and psychological skills which are essential to avoid potential crimes. In fact, school-based programs can keep children from embarking on a life of lawlessness. In conclusion, parents and school are two main components shaping a child’s behaviour and personality. As a result, they are required to spend great efforts to cooperate with each other to reduce the crime rate among youngsters.