It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to teach good behavior to children.

Punishment is one tool that most people believe helps instil discipline among individuals. Even though punishing children may help promote positive behaviours, I believe that scolding them at an early age is totally wrong. Therefore, both teachers and guardians should employ measures that do not inflict physical and emotional harm on them in the hope of correcting them. On the one hand, children may need directions from their parents to help them learn good behaviours. For instance, if a child takes something that belongs to another, he or she might see no wrong with it if not corrected. If the action is repeated punishment may serve as caution that would totally prevent them from the act. Despite this, a child may not know why they are being corrected since they think abstractly at an early age. A child aged one may not know the reason why his mother disciplines him since he may have little to no psychological capacity to understand the reason for their punishment. Positive reinforcement is a vital way to shape toddler's and pre-schoolers actions as they will want more rewards. On the other hand, retribution free from both physical and emotional harm will contribute positively to good moral behaviours. One of the ways could be decreasing the time the minor would have used to watch his or her favourite television program. In this regard, they will abstain from the wrong in order to watch their favourite show. Similarly, teachers can adopt increasing the number of assignments or causing the youngster to stand before the entire school to apologize to discourage any form of punishable offence. In summary, punishment free from physical and emotional effects is an effective tool to instil good moral standards among minors. I believe that there is total resistance from beating toddlers and pre-schoolers.