Some cities create housing for growing populations by building taller buildings while other cities have opted to build on wider areas of land. Discuss both views and give your own opinion?

In order to address the prevalent problem of overpopulation, some cities construct higher apartment blocks while others create larger residential areas. From a personal viewpoint, since both these solutions have their own benefits and drawbacks, a third one which is rural development hereby will be presented. For once, towering multifunctional apartment complexes can provide urban citizens with offices, accommodation, life amenities, and venues for recreation or entertainment within limited areas of land in the downtowns. However, they create a high level of population density with inevitable consequences including traffic congestion and pollution. More spacious residential areas, on the other hand, reduce population density so that residents will have more green space and fresh air. Nonetheless, given the currently restricted land resources in many metropolises in Vietnam, such as Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh City, this solution is virtually impossible. After decades of developing without appropriate urban planning, these cities nearly depleted all their land resources. With the aforementioned pros and cons of both the two provided options, developing rural areas can be a more fundamental solution. It is unquestionable that rural residents flock to cities in search of a better life. Therefore, bringing what they need closer to their hometown is the only way to reduce the influx of migrants into megacities from the very root of this issue. Vietnam’s National Target Program on New Rural Development can be an excellent example. With infrastructure development and improvements in education, healthcare, and the labour market, Vietnam’s countryside can ensure higher standards of living for inhabitants, which removes the need for migration. In conclusion, although taller buildings and wider residential areas have their own benefits, they cannot resolve the core of overpopulation. Socioeconomic development in rural regions, on the other hand, is a more convincing solution.