Humans are producing an increasing amount of trash everyday and the world is becoming full of the landfills we use to get rid of our trash. In your opinion, how can recycling save the environment and help the people on Earth?

In the present day, solid waste management has become an increasingly important concern. Many people believe that throwing their garbage into a dumping site is a solution. Communities are encouraged to separate waste into bins according to its type, such as organic matter, glass, plastic, and paper, in order to promote recycling. From my perspective, there are many advantages to reusing materials, as outlined below. On the one hand, accumulating garbage in dump sites can raise serious social and environmental problems. Communities living nearby are exposed to toxic gases such as methane, unpleasant odours, and contaminated water. These residents are vulnerable to diseases including cholera, typhoid, and lung cancer. In addition, animals may eat food waste wrapped in polythene found around landfills, which can lead to digestive problems and death. Therefore, not only humans but also other living creatures are affected if these problems are ignored. On the other hand, there are growing efforts to reduce the environmental damage caused by humans. In the past, it was believed that burning polythene and plastic was an effective method, but this was later found to increase air pollution. Nowadays, people tend to focus on recycling to make better use of materials. Many countries have already adopted this approach as a solution to deal with non-biodegradable waste. Moreover, recycling can help reduce pollution and allow the production of new goods from used materials. In addition, the concept of “ waste -to-energy” has become popular worldwide, as waste can be converted into electricity. In conclusion, it is not easy to reverse the damage already done to the environment, but new technologies such as recycling should be promoted to ensure a sustainable future.