Today people are travelling more than ever before. Why is this the case? What are the benefits of travelling for the traveller?

People nowadays are travelling more often than in the past. In this essay, I will explain the factors that contribute towards this growing trend and examine the great advantages associated with travelling itself. There are two underlying reasons why people are travelling more often these days. Firstly, flying costs have become a lot more affordable, thanks in large part to the advances in technology related to air travel. In other words, despite being once regarded as a luxury for few, travelling has become relatively affordable even to those coming from middle-income families, which consequently makes the idea of travelling more appealing to a wider range of people. Secondly, due to increasing globalization, more companies are establishing international relations, thus necessitating export and import activities on a regular basis. Therefore, it is becoming increasingly common for workers to become highly mobile as they might be obliged to make business trips regularly. Travelling offers two main benefits. Firstly, it enables tourists to experience a wide range of cultures that they would not otherwise find if they were to spend their whole life living in their hometown. For instance, Indonesian tourists travelling to Japan can immerse themselves in the local cultures and learn about their cultural norms such as different ways of greeting and addressing people from different age groups. This example shows how exposure to different customs and traditions can help travelers grow more open-minded and tolerant towards differences. Furthermore, in the face of hectic lifestyles, visiting new places can be a fulfilling experience to maintain work-life balance. For example, not only can holidaymakers plan an itinerary to visit great destinations ranging from historical museums to awe-inspiring natural attractions, but they can also taste traditional and authentic food that they find along the way. Engaging in such fun activities, in turn, allows them to lives their life to the fullest. In conclusion, people nowadays are travelling more frequently than they used to mainly because of low-cost airlines and the increasing globalization. They can enjoy the benefits of travelling such as developing respect for cultural diversity and relieving stress.