Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development

It is undeniable that technology has played a huge role in changing people ’s way of interacting with one another. Despite having numerous benefits, I also believe that it contains several drawbacks, which will be mentioned in this essay. On the one hand, technology is beneficial in that it manages to eliminate the distance and time barriers between people. To be specific, with the emergence of mobile phones and social apps such as Facebook, Skype and Snapchat, people can see each other at the push of a button, and unlike the old times when it may take days to receive letters, now people can communicate with each other in real-time, hence significantly reducing the friction of socializing. Additionally, technology also enables individuals to widen their social circles. Social platforms alongside updating statuses about users’ loved ones also suggest people that they may know to form relationships with them. As a result, technology not only helps people to stay updated with their friends, but also creates potential in careers, jobs and social relationships. On the other hand, technological advancement may bring harm to human interactions for the following reasons. Firstly, it can not provide adequate physical communication and emotions such as empathy and mindfulness which are fundamental to prolong the connections between individuals in real life. In addition, as texting and calling are basically interactions with machines and not directly with real people, it may lead to a decrease in facial expressions and social awareness of individuals, which will result in them appearing emotionless and lacking soft skills. Hence, if one is too dependent on technology, he may not be able to fully develop social skills and fail in situations such as applying for a job or forming relationships in real life. In conclusion, while technology does make a great impact on making communication easier by cutting off time and physical distance, abusing it may lead to losses in necessary social interactions such as body language and facial expressions. In my opinion, we should make a balance between taking advantage of technology and interacting in person to be socially healthy.