It is universally accepted that eating too much sugar has negative effects on people’s health. Therefore, some believe that governments should control the amount of sugar people consume. Others think that it is the responsibility of an individual to control their sugar intake. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In today's world it is common to see that people eat a plenty of products that comprise of sugar. It has a negative influence on their health. Some people think that how much sugar is consumed by people should be controlled by governments, while others believe that it is individual responsibility and everyone should take control themselves. I tend to agree with the latter argument and will support my opinion with examples. First and foremost, supermarkets provide a wide selection of food, which is not always wholesome and nutritious, but high in fats and sugar. I suppose that governments can impose high taxes on sugary products. Furthermore, they can provide more food that is rich in antioxidants and vitamins instead of a big amount of sweet things to food shops. Therefore, the number of people buying sweet things will decrease. On the contrary, people know and are aware of what they buy and what kind of food is healthy for them. Choosing what to eat is a basic human right. No one should control the choice of eating. For instance, if a person eats a big amount of sugar, no one should limit that choice. A person should control what he eats by themselves because only he knows what can damage their health and what is not. To conclude, consuming a lot of products that contain a lot of sugar has a negative impact on people's health. In my opinion, people should control how much sugar they consume and nobody can influence on their decision.