Do you agree with gun possession in public to protect lives ?

There has been an increasing number of crimes breaking out in today’s society and some of them even lead to loss of life. Under the circumstances, some advocate for legalising gun possession so as to protect themselves and their families. However, I strongly argue that the introduction of this law will aggregate the situation, as the level of crime will be far more violent, resulting in the police not being able to ensure the safety of public citizens. To begin, gun possession in the public domain will significantly increase the average crime level. As it stands, the process of owning a private gun is rigorous in most countries, as a result, few incidents involve gun usage. However, if the government enforced the law, it can be easily anticipated that more and more criminals would threaten to murder people in order to attain their missions. Hence, the more prevalent gun possession is, the more dire crimes will occur. Additionally, the ubiquity of gun possessions will bring a substantial challenge to the police. As a general rule, it is only the police that can own guns. In light of this, criminals are inclined to be intimated by the police ’s actions as there is a chance of them being shot while committing a crime. Nevertheless, with criminals having their own guns, they can now equally combat the police, which induces losing the police ’s power and authority. Hence, no authorities can guarantee the safety of the public. In conclusion, from my perspective, not only does gun possession elevate the rate of crimes involving gun usage, but it will also deprive the police of their vital function. Thus, I believe that general citizens should not be allowed to have a gun for their own protection.