With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In the past few years, e- books are becoming more and more common whereas, paper books have become mere shelf-decorating antiques. This essay will demonstrate how e- books are beneficial for the environment, but will also show that e- books significantly harm the readers’ eyes. Firstly, In the past few centuries, lots of trees have been mercilessly fallen in order to mass print books around the globe. This has caused an innumerable number of forests as well as species to disappear. E- books prove to be a more environmentally friendly alternative to traditional books. For example, popular brands such as Kindle, Apple and Samsung have developed special tablets for the purpose of supporting electronic books. Secondly, With the advent of smart devices, people these days have glued their eyes to the multiple screens that they are surrounded with. This has led to a significant increase in the number of people who have been diagnosed with short-sightedness and now have to rely on spectacles in order to see clearly. Reading from a screen leads to an even greater risk of short-sightedness as the text is very small and lengthy. To explain with a clearer example, ophthalmologists have said that reading from your laptop or mobile screen on a long-term basis can cause severe eyesight problems in older ages. To conclude what has been said above, e- books are most definitely an eco-friendly as well as economical alternative to old-fashion books. However, they have to be used in moderation to avoid the risk of vision problems and other associated risks.