Young people are often influenced in their behaviors and situations by others in the same age. This is called “peer pressure”. Do the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, “Peer pressure” plays an important role in young individuals’ behaviours and situations. Some people insist that it has benefits because they can motivate each other in a positive way such as studying hard. However, there is a more persuasive opinion that it has drawbacks since it makes young people lose their own characteristics and feel ostracized. To begin with, some individuals think that young generations have a positive effect on motivating each other. They can be good competitive influencers to one another. For example, in South Korea, a majority of high school students have a goal to study hard in order to go to prestigious universities. In this circumstance, students usually are affected by peer pressure. This means even though some students do not want to study hard, they are willing to focus on their studying and even they copy other pupil students ’ studying schedules. It will eventually help young people to achieve their academic goals and affect positively each other. Nevertheless, there are some drawbacks of having “peer pressure”. A salient example is that young individuals would lose their own preferences and characteristic. Young people usually want to wear trendy jackets or fashionable shoes such as North Face jackets, Nike shoes and many more. For instance, in South Korea, wearing Nike shoes in middle or high school is significantly popular. So a number of students prefer buying those shoes. Moreover, if they do not wear them they sometimes feel lonely and ostracized. Actually, everyone has different preferences and characteristics. However, although some students do not want to wear Nike shoes, they are willing to buy them to mimic other students to belong to peer groups. This means they are going to lose their own preference and traits. It will prevent them from developing their own character in the future. To sum up, it is true that nowadays many young people have pros of peer pressure because they can affect each other positively when they study hard. However, it will be more harmful to them since it influences them on losing their own characteristic.