Some people think that parents should teach their children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the best place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some suggest that children should be taught by their parents on how to become good members of society, while others argue that they should learn this in school. While parents can educate their children in manners, I believe that school provides a more structured form of learning and help students acquire skills, required to be a good individual. One the one hand, parents prepare their children for school life by teaching them how to behave and instill basic moral and ethical values. They are the ones, who understand their children in-and-out because of their immense involvement in their son's or daughter's personal life, right from birth. As a result, they can guide their children in being someone with high ethics and morals. For example, a recent study by the University of Cambridge stated that children who grew up in foster care are often aggressive and arrogant towards other people compared to those who were raised in a homely environment by their parents. However, I would like to argue that soley betting on parents to teach their wards about morality and ethics invites a bias and creates, for their children, a myopic vision of the world. On the other hand, schools and universities provide an excellent environment for students to learn different perspectives about the world and gives them freedom to decide the difference between right and wrong, which in turn ensures that they grow up to be responsible citizens. The structural curriculum in the educational centers often involves group studies and projects, that enhances the skill to work together and assist others, which is an essential trait of a good citizen. For instance, the ISCE board of the Indian education has a mandatory subject called moral science that evaluates students on different hypothetical moral scenarios, through which they learn a great deal about the dos and donts of society. Therefore, I feel the education received by children in schools, provides a more holistic approach for learning ways to become ethical people. In conclusion, although parents can educate their children on basic morality because they spend most of their time with their sons and daughters, I believe that schools and colleges provide a more structured and experimental way of learning the same which guides the students to decide the difference between right and wrong, and in turn become better people.