Some people pend most of their lives living close to where they were born. What might be the reason for this? What are the advantages and disadvantages give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your own experience.

Certain individuals end up spending a lot of their lives close to the area they were born. This is because some people have family property inheritance while some stay as a result of place attachment. These reasons have both merit and demerit. The advantage of this is to feel secure because that particular area is seen as a comfort zone. On the other hand, this can limit an individual sense of exposure which serves as a disadvantage. Firstly, everyone is born into a community and in one way adapt to the culture of the community in which they were born, but one reason why a person will live most of their life in the area of birth is for family inheritance. This can be a determinant for living in the area of birth because it is not possible to carry a landed property. Another reason is as a result of place attachment some people find it difficult to change the environment because they feel attached to where they were born and have been living since birth, they get married and have their children in that same environment. An example of this is the slum, people in this particular area find it difficult to change their environment. Furthermore, the positive side is the area makes people feel secure and protected because they are in their territory. They are most times not ready to meet new people in a different environment and do not trust them. A recent study shows that this helps to reduce the rate of crime in an area which can be very much relatable because most people in such area were born and bred there so, it will be very easy to arrest a criminal. Despite this, the negative impact of this on the people is the low exposure rate which can be a hindrance as an individual progress in Life. The level of social interaction is limited. There are no new people with different social beliefs to interact with therefore, they do things in only one way for example, the IQ of people who lived most of their life in the area they were born in is lower than others will change the environment. In conclusion, some people spend a significant period of their lives living near the area they were born because they feel attached and they have property inheritance. The advantage of this is that there is a sense of protection while it could be a limitation to exposure.