Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career while others believe that it’s better to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

There is a ubiquitous societal belief that in order for individuals to achieve success in life, they must obtain a degree in higher education. This has enticed a heated debate amongst people, where some withhold this stereotype, while others argue that success is solely dependent on the individual's ambition and determination to excel. This essay assesses both viewpoints and explains why I stand at a cross-section when it comes to this topic. On the one hand, the majority of people associate success with education, as they assume that a college degree is required for success. This is due to the fact that university curriculums provide the attendees with knowledge about the work field, as well as, focus on providing training to the students to assist them in developing personal and professional skills that are essential for working. For instance, medical students gain knowledge about various illnesses and treatment plans through studying how different body systems operate. In addition, they are trained to develop critical thinking and problem-solving skills that will aid them in making a diagnosis. This shows that a college qualification is crucial to get and excel at certain professions. On the other hand, many people are firm believers that achieving success is related to the person's ambition, commitment, and intelligence. An epitome that depicts this is the renowned Apple founder, Steve Jobs, who was a high school dropout. Although Jobs didn't pursue higher education, he made a remarkable achievement in the technology field, as his company's products are one of the most popular across the globe. This signifies that a driven person can achieve success regardless of their educational background. I personally believe that both ambition and qualification are equally important, and a combination of both can enable individuals to shine and accomplish their goals. In conclusion, while some suppose that a college degree is key to success, others think that it is a reflection of the individual's ambition. I advocate to strike a balance between both viewpoints by appreciating the value of higher education when supported with ambition.