IELTS Task 2 Writing The gap between the rich and the poor is becoming wider; the rich are becoming richer and the poor are even getting poorer. What problems can the situation cause? What can be done to reduce this gap? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, it is commonly seen that poverty continues to predominate among the poor, while affluence is fast spreading among the rich, with a big disparity between the two parties. In the long run, it could lead to a high crime rate and civil unrest if not harnessed by enacting an order that maintains an egalitarian public. There are lots of consequences of having an inequitable world between the wealthy population and the poor. Firstly, it could cause violence in the community because poverty-stricken individuals may not be able to afford common items needed for their daily living which may result to protest and fight. For example, there was a public outcry among university students when tuition was increased which led to a riot. Secondly, It may lead to an increase in criminal acts. There is a saying that "a hungry man is an angry man".In any nation where balance is not maintained between the affluent and the poor, there will always be law-breaking. For instance, the price of food is too exorbitant for a common man to afford unlike the rich, and this may push the poor to engage in unlawful acts like armed robbery, looting of government properties and others. Hence, the issues that irregularity between these two parties could cause are unimaginable. In order to bridge the gap between the rich and the poverty-stricken population, the government need to establish a strict order that would maintain an equitable public so that equal opportunities would be made available to everyone. For instance, a minimum wage should be part of the government budget for every working class in a nation in other to provide for their basic needs. Again, there should be heavy taxation on the rich so that the money generated could be used to take care of the less privileged. To conclude, the consequences that arise from a wide margin between poor and rich populations like a high rate of criminal acts and violence could be mitigated by the enhancement of ruling by the lawmakers.