Some people believe that professionals, such as doctors and engineers, should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Others believe they should be free to work in another country if they wish. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Nowadays, many professionals, such as doctors, nurses and engineers leave their original country for their future perspective. Some people think it is a good approach, while others think it is a bad thing. In my point of view, I think it is a good approach. In Sri Lanka, the government offers free education to students until they complete their higher education. The expenses are completely covered by tax money, which was paid by the general public. This means, indirectly, citizens in the country spend money for the students to learn. So, once they have utilized this and become professionals, they also have a duty to cater for their motherland and people. This is the general idea of the majority of individuals in the country. But, I believe they can serve the country, although they are not physically available. Instead, they can send dollars that they earnt there, back to the motherland, which may contribute to the economy of the island. Also, they can bring some credit or recognition to the nation, through their talents and commitment. If we are not being selfish, we should think of their side too. They have become doctors and engineers, because they worked very hard and spent many sleepless nights. They are deserved to have a comfortable, life if they wish. In developed countries, they have the luxury of good food, public transport, high-quality facilities and work with high-caliber individuals. They should have the freedom to select, what they want. In conclusion, it is clear that the younger generation can work aboard if they wish, but they can still provide a great service to their home country.