Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

The issue of whether children should decide their daily routines and make arrangements on their own, or not, has long been controversial. Although there are advantages to giving freedom to youngers about their everyday matters, I believe there are also some disadvantages exist. On the one hand, young adults have the right to decide how their life is. For instance, choosing what they are going to eat for breakfast, lunch and dinner; planning what they are going to do for leisure entertaining themselves and also what to dress for school. Some people may find their offspring not only becoming more independent by making their own decisions, but they also learned to take responsibility for their own judgement, such as when they face difficulties and failure by making a relatively bad decision, they tried to overcome and solve the problem by themselves, which this behaviour has a better impact on problems solving skills than the youth who tend to rely on their parents asking for help. On the other hand, offspring who make decisions all by themselves may result in having a higher risk to encounter serious problems related to crime, as they emphasised the importance of freedom and self-decision-making, they may ignore the suggestions from their parents and insist on making their own choice. Another point to note is that the concept of self-esteem has been deeply instilled in children's minds, which leads them not to know how to feel empathy for others. As they were taught to focus on their own wishes, they may not have an idea of considerating others' feelings and needs, which subsequences to a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes, ignoring others. To conclude, under this line of thinking, it is patently obvious that people nowadays are more focused on living with freedom and following their flow and wishes, however, this may be a bad idea in letting people at their tender age live on their own without guidance since disadvantages outweighed advantages.