Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely claimed that smoking should be prohibited in public places such as shopping malls and parks as the reason that it does not harm only the smoker, but also those who are nearby. I strongly agree with the statement and the ideas that support my opinion will be discussed in this essay. To begin with, this has various drawbacks. Firstly, this affects non-smoker health more than smokers. For example, some researchers demonstrate that there are numerous patients who have lung cancer although they did not smoke. The cause that makes those who have this disease are they live with people who use cigarettes and they usually visit the places that contain several smokers. In addition, some researches prove that a smoker is safer than a non-smoker,seeing that there is a filter inside those cigarettes. Accordingly, this proves that some smokers have a chance to get the risk of this disease less than non-smokers. Secondly, it creates a bad atmosphere because of a terrible smell. To illustrate, most cigarettes have an unsatisfied smell. Hence,most individuals will avoid that area since no one wants to receive bad smells, moreover, some of them think that a human who is smoking is a bad person. Therefore, they feel unsafe to pass that area. In conclusion, those are the reasons why smoking in public places should be banned. In my point of view, it is unfair for non-smokers because they have to get a risk of lung cancer although they are not cigarette users.