Smoking should be banned in all public places even though it would restrict some of other people’s freedoms. Do you agree or disagree?  Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is argued that smoking in public places should be prohibited as it can constrain the freedom of other individuals. In my opinion, smoking should be banned in civic places as it can lead to irreversible diseases and significantly increase the number of smoking individuals. First, cigarette fumes contain a number of toxic chemicals. When inhaled by the lungs, these substances can enter the blood system and affect the health of many organs. One of the most harmful outcomes of passive smoking is cancer. This makes being exposed to tobacco smoke as dangerous as active smoking. For example, according to research carried out by World Health Organisation, 3% of cancer diseases were caused by passive smoking. Second, most non-smoking people do not enjoy the smell of burnt tobacco. Consequently, smoking in public places restrict the freedom of those who do not smoke, leading to a decrease in life quality. Apart from that, inhalation of smoke raises the probability of smoking addiction, which in turn significantly increases the number of smoking individuals. For example, according to recent studies from the American Lung Association, 40% of people start smoking due to passive exposure. In conclusion, passive smoking greatly decreases the health of the human population and restricts rights of the non-smoking individuals. In my opinion, governments should set laws to restrict it. Nowadays, many countries already have policies regarding smoking in public places and I hope that in the future the number of smoke-free places will increase.