Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many foods and drinks contain too much sugar in them which leads to serious health issues. Some individuals argue that the prices of these products should be expensive to stop people from buying them. I agree with this statement because sugary products are crucial to society, and rising price leads people to change their choices. The consumption of high amounts of sugar can be dangerous to society. This is because of the negative effects of these products on people's health. Consuming more sugar can lead to insulin resistance which may cause type 2 sugar disease. Also, the artificial ingredients used in these products can damage the digestion system and make people sicker. For instance, in the USA the percentages of people who get diabetes and obesity are high because of the higher consumption of sugary food. The rising price of sugary products can make people question themselves before buying them. People like to buy products which are affordable and have good taste like sugary snacks and drinks. However; the increasing costs of these products can make people choose affordable ones such as fruits and vegetables and these choices can help them become healthier. For example, in Saudi Arabia, many markets have begun to increase the price of sugary food and sell healthy food like dates and milk at a lower price and this influences the customer choice. In conclusion, supermarkets should make the prices of snacks and beverages that contain a huge amount of sugar higher, due to its harmful impact on people's health. I believe that these sugary snacks can affect an individual's health negatively and rising costs can influence what people choose to consume.