In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In this multicultural population, some of them believe and teach their young that if they are working hard no matter their conditions or background, then they can achieve whatever they aim for. This essay will describe in detail the advantages and disadvantages that come from this belief. There are two main advantages of this message. First, it boosts the confidence of every child. For example, when a girl keeps failing to ride a bicycle, she will not easily give up. Rather than dwelling on how bad she is, teaching the importance of hard work will guide her to accept that part of success is a failure. Thus, she is still motivated to try again. The second advantage is that this concept introduces how to be responsible. For instance, if a boy gets a bad score, he will learn that it’s due to his lack of study. Later in his life, he will understand that he can’t act poorly, because every action has consequences. On the other hand, there are also some disadvantages that need to be considered, when teaching this concept. The major risk is burnout from pursuing a single thing for a long time. This can be avoided by understanding that there is a factor of suitability. The aim simply does not suit their child's strength and potential. Moreover, according to research by the University of Indonesia in 2020, as much as 40% of children become an adult, who only value themself when they are successful. This is another major risk, because this leads to an increased number of mental illnesses such as impostor syndrome and anxiety. In conclusion, the main advantages are that children will become confident and responsible, but if someone overdoes it, it can lead to burnout and other mental illnesses.