At present time, the population of some contries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

The issue of whether it is good to have more people at a young age than people in old age has long been controversial. Although there are advantages to having more young adults in the country, I believe that the drawbacks outweighed the benefits in terms of different circumstances. On one hand, it is clear that having a relatively large number of young adults helps develop the society as they are relatively engergetic comparing with the elderly. Youngers have a better physical health and strength to deal with daily routines. They are strong enough to contribute the society, which people in old age may not be able to work due to their physical condition, such as suffering from knee pain and back pain results in getting hurt easily. Therefore, younger seems to be neccessary in contributing productive power to society. Another point to note is that the elderly are always related to health problems which imposed medical burdens on society. They have a relatively high risk of suffering from disease which needs to be cured by using public resources. Public funds can be made used of effective and wisely instead of excessively focusing on medical if the number of adolescents is larger than the elderly. On the other hand, having a large scale of young adults in a country has disadvantages in terms of increasing crime rate and insufficient of degree courses. With regard to the influence among peers, since people at young age do not have a well-developed mind, they may follow their friends to do something damaging the society and to themselves by underestimating the consequences. For instance, if their friend ask them to steal things in the supermarket, they may commit it just because of fun and peer influency influences, which in turn increases the rate of crimes. Moreover, due to the large number of youth, it is not difficult to see that there are competitiveness among degree courses, leading to some of the students do not have chances to attend university. To conclude, it is believed that although there are advantages to having a large number of youth in society, however, the disadvantages outweighed the advantages.