Some people believe it is important to spend a lot on family celebration, while others think it is a waste of money. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

A highly controversial issue today relates to whether to celebrate relatives birthdays and weddings or not. This essay will discuss both debates and explain why I believe the argumenta to celebrate are stronger. On the one hand, those who support family celebrations cite the various benefits of that such events can bring to an household. These ranges from getting to know some extended members of the family, to savouring the moment to enjoying the unique moment and understanding cultural norms regarding traditional weddings. For example, the last time I attended my nephew wedding in Lagos Nigeria, I got to know that it's against our tradition to come empty-handed to a wedding. In addition, such parties are special moments in a person's life which will be remembered for their whole life. On the contrary, others believe that this is a way to burn money. It is often argued that it cost a lot and do not compensate for the work. Some people even go to the extent of borrowing a huge amount of money from banks to organize such events, which is not always reasonable as the money could have yielded more profits if it's invested in stocks and bonds. A second opinion is that this value could be spent in different ways such as organizing trips for the couples and buying clothes for the birthday celebrant. In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their merits. However, I feel that spending lavishly on weddings and birthdays are justified as such events will be a fraction of time that will never be forgotten for some individuals.