At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

The issue of whether it is good to have more people at a young age than at old age in a country has long been controversial. Although there are advantages to having more young adults in society, I believe that the drawbacks outweighed the benefits in terms of different circumstances. On one hand, having a relatively large number of younger is beneficial to society, and adolescents have an impact on contributing the economic development. As youngers are more energetic than the elderly. For example, when they work, people at younger ages have relatively more productive power because of their high physical strength, which in turn results in making better profits for a company. Moreover, Since the chance of suffering from illness among the elderly is higher than that of adolescents, ranging from physical pain, and eyes problem to cardiovascular disease due to degeneration, public funds may have to focus on the healthcare industry instead of other elements, like education. Therefore, a large number of the elderly may impose a large-scale medical burden on society. On the other hand, other than the aforementioned advantages, there are some disadvantages caused by the high population density of the youth. It is clear that people at a young age do not have a well-developed mind, they may easily commit crimes due to peer influence. Whatever their friends ask them to do, they would try to commit no matter if the behaviour is legal or not. Another point worth our attention is that some service industries, like construction, may face challenges such as the insufficiency of experienced workers, which normally are in old age. Since those practical skills and techniques are gained through experiences of daily assignments, adolescents may not acquire the skills and may not get the job done easily, in an environment that mostly consists of young people, without professional guidance from the elderly. To conclude, I believe that the disadvantages of this situation outweighed the advantages, because the experiences come from the elderly does beneficial to our society.