Students should choose a university major that prepares them for high-paying careers. To what extent do you agree with this statement ?

In the present age, the top priority for most people is what type of salary and how much they earn due to global inflation and instability; therefore, there is growing pressure on the younger generation to choose the so-called high-earning majors rather than pursuing what they are truly passionate about. In the following essay, I will outline my reasons for believing that such an approach might be imprudent and result in many undesirable outcomes. In my experience, sustained success requires a true passion for the work you do every day. There are many who have chosen their career without proper consideration of what their aptitudes and interests are and solely based on prospective revenue; nevertheless, the majority of these individuals discover themselves unable to commit themselves to their jobs, as they gradually become weary of the nature of their chosen careers, and find their performance to be subpar and inconsistent. Due to their fatigue, these employees may be forced to change careers frequently and without developing much expertise in any particular field, which most likely results in below-average pay, the exact opposite of what they intended. As a result, deciding your career solely based on your compensation might not be the best course of action. Secondly, many people discover that the higher a person's income, the greater the burden and stress they must bear. It is common for the upper echelon of income earners to endeavour in extremely stressful industries as well as long hours, for example, many investment bankers quit their jobs and change careers after five to six years due to the physical and mental strains of working for up to twelve hours a day. Moreover, predictions regarding the demand for different majors in the decades following a student's graduation are generally not precise because of the ever-changing dynamics of the market due to disruptive technologies such as artificial intelligence. To illustrate, computer scientists, once believed to have job security indefinitely, are now facing increased layoffs and shrinking job opportunities. There are many factors to be considered besides prospective income and salary, namely, one's inherent talents and passions, geographical location of industry hubs and working hours, and whether the students in question would rather work in a job that requires them to frequently interact with people or perform behind a computer in a more analytical role. It is for the aforementioned reasons that I vehemently believe that the disadvantages of choosing a profession solely on earning considerations far outweigh the merits of such an approach