In the globalization process, technology has changed the way people connect with each other. While this development may bring about some potential benefits, I would argue they are eclipsed by the significant drawbacks.

In the globalization process, technology has changed the way people connect with each other. While this development may bring about some potential benefits, I would argue they are eclipsed by the significant drawbacks. On the one hand, there are several reasons why the advance of technology is beneficial. Firstly, in the past, people mostly contacted others by letters. Now it does not seem to be a convenient way because it took a long time to do the process. Instead of that, people can immediately receive and answer messages through many social platforms such as facebook, twitter and skype. Additionally, people can even make new friends easily on mentioned applications anywhere around the world just by a phone connected to wifi. Moreover, technologies allow people to reconnect with long- lost relationships and keep in touch with long- distance relationships. For instance, abroad students can update the family information in their hometown and can video call to see them every single day to feel less lonely in a strange country. In spite of the benefits above, I believe that technology development has a greater drawback affecting our communication society. The principal one is that people may experience virtual distance because they only connect others by screen of devices and they may misunderstand and even not be honest about things without hesitation. In addition, higher technology use adds up to significantly less time spent together as a couple, less satisfaction and connection, and higher levels of depression and anxiety. Because a relationship needs to be built up by both physical and mental aspects as meetings in real person not just online meetings. Another striking feature is that cutting- edge technologies can be an effective distraction in the current moment. A good illustration for it is that when you sit down in the classroom listening to your teacher or in the coffee shop hearing your friends’ story, notifications of social networking sites may bother and interrupt you and other people or even ruin the important moments. In conclusion, it seems to me that the disadvantages of technology bringing our social life are more considerable than its advantages. Through this essay, I would like to send a message that we should balance the use of technologies in our virtual and reliable life to keep our relationship healthy.