In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In modern-day society, businesses often claim that their products are up-to-the-minute in several ways. From my point of view, this phenomenon does have both merits and demerits; however, its benefits outnumber its drawbacks, which can be illustrated as follows. First of all, it goes without saying that exaggerating about products triggers some negative consequences. To begin with, it entices customers into spending money on products that are not worth buying. For instance, several corporations tend to exaggerate about new features integrated into their smart devices, calling them the so-called “state-of-the-art technologies” in order to mislead buyers. Another significant consequence of this matter is that users have to pay higher prices for those items. My brother as an example, had to pay $500 for a shirt that was equivalent to the one he had at home both in quality and design, giving him a bang of regret. On the other hand, I do reckon that there are more pluses than minuses of producers pointing up the latest version of their products. First and foremost, the competition of the big companies in providing better products is a noteworthy advantage. Indeed, new productions released serve as a scaffold for the opponents to keep up with the time and develop their items in order to catch up with their rivals. Moreover, customers will have a variety of choices. For instance, thanks to the constant innovation of kinds of toothpaste can my acquaintance not only opt for one that does not deteriorate his tooth decay but also acquire his favourite type, which has a strawberry flavour. Another typical benefit to be noted is that companies can earn the loyalty of customers. Apparently, updating goods on a frequent basis shows that companies embrace the complaints as well as the advice of the users, enabling them to increase their levels of trustworthiness. In a nutshell, the merits overwhelm the demerits of this trend. Hence, the questions posed here are how to harness its strengths and mitigate its weakness for a better future.